Who we are

We are a passionate team of women and men working towards a future where equity for women and girls of the Commonwealth is a universal value and way of life.

Our work is made possible by the work of our Community, Senior Management Team, Advisers, Ground Partners, Platform Founders’, Supporters and remarkably committed Volunteers.

Commonwealth Businesswomen’s Awards 2018 Awards Night, Mayfair Hotel, UK.

Senior Management Team

Freda Miriklis (Australia)


Arif Zaman (UK)

Executive Director

Rose Maghas (Kenya)

Chief Technology Officer

Nana Wanjau (Kenya)

Chief Operations Officer

International Advisory Group

Dame Inga Beale (UK)

Chair, Mediclinic, Deputy Chair, London First and former Chief Executive Officer, Lloyd’s of London

Dr. Maleeha Lodhi (Pakistan)

Former Pakistan High Commissioner to the UK, Ambassador to the USA, Permanent Representative to the UN and President, UNICEF

Esther Eghobamien (Nigeria)

UN CEDAW Committee Member & Special Assistant – Technical to MWASD, Nigeria

Meg Jones (Australia)

Former Chief, Economic Empowerment, UN Women and Head, Women and Trade Programme Manager, International Trade Centre (ITC)

Gina Din-Kariuki (Kenya)

Founder, Gina Din Corporate Communications and 2015 CNBC East Africa Businesswoman of the Year

Valrie Grant (Jamaica)

Founder and Managing Director of GeoTechVision and Commonwealth Woman Entrepreneur of the Year, 2015 CHOGM, Malta


Helen Jones MBE

Adviser, Education and Skills

Helen Zahos

Adviser, Health and Disaster Risk Reduction (and CBWN Platform Founder)

Thana Sivasambu

Adviser, Institutional and Operations Support (and CBWN Platform Founder)

CBWN Platform Founders

Dr. Adeyinka Taiwo

Helen Zahos

Thana Sivasambu

Angela Tomazos

Nella Andem-Ewa Rabana, SAN, FCI-Arb

Dr. (Mrs.) Tonia Smart

Haija Bola Muse

Ngozi Oyewole

Mrs Obitoru Ofili